Review: Beyond the Black Door by A.M. Strickland

beyond the black doorMy rating: 3 out of 5 stars
Genre: YA Fantasy
Pages: 400
Pacing: Slow
Publisher: Imprint
Published: October 29th, 2019
Diversity: LGBTQ+ (ace main character + trans side character)

Trigger warnings: Violence, Death, toxic relationship, Attempted suicide.

 

 

Kamai was warned never to open the black door, but she didn’t listen …
Everyone has a soul. Some are beautiful gardens, others are frightening dungeons. Soulwalkers―like Kamai and her mother―can journey into other people’s souls while they sleep. Continue reading “Review: Beyond the Black Door by A.M. Strickland”

April TBR

Hello! Hello! Hello!

Well, it’s April. I don’t think any of us would imagine that 2020 would turn out how it has. I am now working from home for the next couple of weeks so not sure how my reading will go since I usually do a couple audiobooks a month as I drive to work. I’m hoping to get through a couple of arcs though.

Here is my TBR!

Continue reading “April TBR”

March Wrap Up master

Hello! Hello! Hello!

I think everyone has been struggling this month with everything going on in the world this is a very stressful time. I set off at the beginning of the month with a very set TBR and I kind of stuck to it but I have changed a couple books on it throughout the month.

This is what I read!

Continue reading “March Wrap Up master”

Review: Dear Haiti, Love Alaine by Maika Moulite & Maritza Moulite

dear haiti love alaineMy rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Genre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 432
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Published: September 3rd, 2019

 

Trigger Warning: abuse, attempted sexual assault, miscarriage, Alzheimer’s.

 

 

Co-written by sisters Maika and Maritza Moulite, and told in epistolary style through letters, articles, emails, and diary entries, this exceptional debut novel captures a sparkling new voice and irrepressible heroine in a celebration of storytelling sure to thrill fans of Nicola Yoon, Ibi Zoboi and Jenna Evans Welch! Continue reading “Review: Dear Haiti, Love Alaine by Maika Moulite & Maritza Moulite”

Top Ten Tuesday #10

Hello! Hello! Hello!

Today is Tuesday so you know what that means! It’s time for Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish weekly meme that is currently run by Jana over at That Artsy Reader Girl.

This week’s (March 10th, 2020) topic:  Authors Who Have a Fun Social Media Presence.  Allons-y!

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday #10”

Review: Tarnished are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

tarnished are the stars

My rating: 3 ½ out of 5 stars
Genre: YA Sci-Fi/Steampunk
Pages: 384
Pacing: Normal
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Published: October 15th, 2019
Diversity: LGBTQ+ (main characters)

 

 

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.
Continue reading “Review: Tarnished are the Stars by Rosiee Thor”

Review: The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen

merciful crow

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Genre: YA Fantasy
Pages: 384
Pacing: Normal
Publisher: Henry Holt (BYR)
Published: July 30th, 2019

 

 

A future chieftain
Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.

Continue reading “Review: The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen”